W13.0 – Ahmed AL-Abri- Plan-DO-Check-ACT (PDCA) Cycle


  1. Problem Definition

I attended a course of Certification Prep of PMP and it was divided to three parts:-5days face to face, Distance learning and 4 days face to face. Now the problem how to achieve the tasks of distance learning in 13weeks.

  1. Identify the Feasible Alternative

The required tasks to be achieved in 13 weeks as following:-

  • Posting 13 blogs.
  • Writing and Submitting a minimum 2500 words paper.
  • Searching and submitting 3 templets.
  • Solving 4 exercises and 16 questions of exams in Rita PMP Exam Prep Book.
  1. Development of the Outcome for Alternative

To achieve the required tasks in 13 weeks, I tried to find a way which suitable to me and it should let me finalizing the required task in the required time and I planned as following:-

  1. Blogs
  • Posting the first blog as early as possible to learn from my mistakes and avoid them in the next posting blogs.
  • Selection topics and real cases from my work and discipline to keep myself feel interesting.
  • Choosing and applying methods and techniques those I feel them they are useful to be applied in my work the future.
  • Learning from my colleagues posting.
  • In the event I get comments from the instructor I stick with them until I get the blog approve.
  • Trying to finalize most of the blogs before week 10.
  • Prior starting a new blog I read the previous blog to motivate myself to achieve the current blog.
  • Using any free time to work in the blog. 
  1. Paper
  • Selection topic that solve a real problem in my work.
  • Studying the given material by the Instructor that relevant to my topic carefully.
  • Learning deeply the format of the paper was given by the instructor.
  • Not keeping long time between the submission of the drafts and stick with the comments of the instructor and trying to correct them as soon as possible.
  • Planning to complete the paper before week 10.
  1. Templet
  • Not starting work in the templet until the completion of 11 blogs and the paper.
  • Dedicating three hours in three consecutive days (1 hours per day).
  • Completion the templates before week 10.
  1. Solving problems.
  • Starting solving problems after the completion of 12 blogs, paper and template.
  • Doing the problems in the week end
  1. Selection Criteria

In order to check the possibility of implementation of my plan I a adopted the technique of   Plan-DO-Check-ACT (PDCA) Cycle

  1. Analysis and Comparison of the Alternative
  • The plan was setting as per above mentioned (Plan).
  • The implementation of the plan was started and moved (DO).
  • The plan was moved smoothly and found realistic and achievable (Check).
  • Because the plan was moving the smoothly, so I carried out same plan(Act)                                        
  1. Selection of the Preferred Alternative

From the above it is very obvious that my plan was realistic and achievable and the evidence that I succeeded to implement it. Another indicator was observed that I was a committed to achieve the tasks. Anything done by the others can be done by you just you to implement your method and the technique of   Plan-DO-Check-ACT (PDCA) Cycle is good to be adopted to check your plan and performance.

There is a difference between do and act hence act means do after the improvement and in my case do = act because I found the plan was perfect from the beginning.

I succeeded to do my assignments personally but I cannot consider it a big achievement because the others failed to achieve their target and I did not deliver my way to guide them.

  1. Performance Monitoring and the Post Evaluation of Result

The technique of   Plan-DO-Check-ACT (PDCA) Cycle is good method to evaluate the realistic of your plan and a good measurement to the performance or the productivity in accordance with the plan.

There are few disadvantages of this technique and they are as following:-

  • Oversimplification of the Improvement Process. In other words, it might tell you there is wrong in your plan but does not tell you how to correct it.
  • Confusion in the Acronym and that means many of people think the meaning of do is equal to act and in the reality the meaning of act means do after the improvement of the plan.
  • Reactive Nature which means it assumes that everything starts with Planning. This need not always be the case in real-life situations, where at times changing the rigid circular order might deliver better results.
  • Ignorance of the “People” Element. People having to adjust to change on a continuous basis and work in an uncertain environment encounter “change fatigue” or disenchantment.
  1. Reference:
One thought on “W13.0 – Ahmed AL-Abri- Plan-DO-Check-ACT (PDCA) Cycle

  1. Nice, Ahmed!!!! You know what would make an interesting follow on blog posting? Compare Shewhart’s Plan Do Check Act cycle vs Deming’s Plan Do STUDY Act vs Agyris & Schon’s “Double Loop Learning” cycle…..

    http://pkpinc.com/files/NA01MoenNormanFullpaper.pdf

    http://www.lornemitchell.com/?p=328

    Which one do you think is “better” or “more appropriate” in terms of project management as opposed to operations management?

    BR,
    Dr. PDG, Jakarta

Leave a Reply

